Douglas

Douglas

I answer to Douglas, Sir Douglas, or even “the man” – but please do not call me Doug. Doug is a Pug’s name and I am a barrel chested, virile, 6 year old, 80 pound English Bulldog. I certainly do not want to be compared to a toy breed.

Right now I live near Baltimore, MD with my foster family but I am officially available for adoption! I came to the S.N.O.R.T. program because my owner is moving overseas and cannot take me along. I was a loved boy in my prior home, and I’m looking for a person or family who is ready for a canine addition to dote upon. Foster mom will tell you that I am well behaved in the house, sweet and an excellent guard dog. Some of my favorite things are car rides, toys, treats, belly rubs, lounging with my people and going for walks. As I mentioned, I am virile and thus a strong walker, so I will need someone able to manage my manliness on leash walks.  (Translation: I could benefit from some additional leash training.) Mostly I just want to be an important family member.  In foster care I live with 2 teenagers and other dogs. I get along well with everyone in the family. I am untested with cats.

I am also in great health and require no medications. Since I am a good boy in the house, I do not even require a crate, although I have been crate trained when I was younger. I’m also neutered and microchipped and up to date on vaccines.

There is only one thing that I can report as a genuine dislike. I sometimes get nervous in new situations. I am not food or toy aggressive, but on 2 times I did nip at a stranger while I was in an unfamiliar situation. Both nips were on the hand, and minor. I would be best suited in a home with someone who is dog savvy, and a home without small children.

Whether you work from home, or commute to a job, I am A-OK with your schedule. I am also not fussy on the type of environment that you have: house, apartment, fenced yard or unfenced, city or rural, all options are on the table for a good house guest like me. All I ask is that when you are finished with work, you set time aside each day for our daily walks (and leash training), and some good snuggle time afterwards.

If you are ready for this handsome (and virile) man to join your family, submit a S.N.O.R.T. adoption application today so that the S.N.O.R.T people can call and tell you more about me!